Parish records of Appleton Roebuck with Acaster Selby

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1864-1920, and a photocopy of the register for 1920-1990; register of marriages, 1853-1970; register of burials, 1850-1974 (these cover burials in Acaster Selby churchyard, 1850-1874, and burials in Appleton Roebuck churchyard, 1868-1958); register of banns, 1850-1953; register of services, 1901-1974; register of confirmations, 1911-1953; records concerning benefice income, including tithe correspondence, 1895-1939; correspondence and papers, 1900, 1923-1924, 1955, 1960-1961; charity records, including accounts, 1881, 1894, 1899, 1902, trustees' appointment, 1880, memorandum, 1877, and papers, 1876-1971; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1850-1919, church building papers, 1868, fabric papers, 1884, 1889-1904, 1913, 1920, 1925, 1935, 1955, and churchyard papers, 1936; records of incumbents, including dilapidations, 1900-1931, 1958, 1960-1961, 1972, mortgages, 1876, 1938, 1959, 1965, and statistical returns, 1899-1941; overseers’ records, including accounts, 1830-1839, and returns to Poor Law Commissioners, 1848-1860; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including appointment of trustee of lending library, 1923; school records, including managers' minutes of meetings, 1876-1903, accounts, 1904-1935, note of master's pension, 1868, and inquiry into endowments, 1897; surveyors’ records, including accounts, 1810-1834, and list of days service for gravel leading, 1817; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1876-1922, 1956-1974, correspondence regarding new parish, 1875-1877, and magazines, 1966-1970, 1973-1980.

Administrative / Biographical History

The parish of Acaster Selby was formed from that of Stillingfleet in 1850. Appleton Roebuck was formed in 1868 from the parish of Bolton Percy. In 1875 these two new parishes were joined to form what was initially called Acaster Selby with Appleton Roebuck.

The parish church is the church of All Saints at Appleton Roebuck, which was built in 1868 by architects J. B. and W. Atkinson of York. The church at Acaster Selby is dedicated to St John the Evangelist.

Between 1900 and 1905 the name was changed to Appleton Roebuck with Acaster Selby, but there seems to have been some confusion about the matter as the names were often used interchangeably.

Arrangement

The arrangement of the records reflects the complicated history of the parish, since some records (eg. the parish registers) started out life as belonging to one or other of the new parishes, but became joint records after 1875.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1980 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1981, 1982, 1988, 1991 and 1995.

Note

The parish of Acaster Selby was formed from that of Stillingfleet in 1850. Appleton Roebuck was formed in 1868 from the parish of Bolton Percy. In 1875 these two new parishes were joined to form what was initially called Acaster Selby with Appleton Roebuck.

The parish church is the church of All Saints at Appleton Roebuck, which was built in 1868 by architects J. B. and W. Atkinson of York. The church at Acaster Selby is dedicated to St John the Evangelist.

Between 1900 and 1905 the name was changed to Appleton Roebuck with Acaster Selby, but there seems to have been some confusion about the matter as the names were often used interchangeably.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute.

Alternative Form Available

Selected records for Appleton Roebuck, including registers of christenings, 1866-1990, marriages, 1853-1970, burials, 1850-1974, and banns, 1850-1900, overseers' accounts, 1830-1864, and highway accounts, 1810-1834, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 629, 1751, 1589, 1765). A register of burials for Acaster Selby, 1885-1900, is also available on microfilm (Reference: MF 1751).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 17.12.15

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

Parish records of Appleton Roebuck before 1850 can be found in the Parish Records of Bolton Percy.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193