Manuscript volume containing tables giving a statement of the [English] excise revenue from Michaelmas 1662 to [Jul 1875]. There is a possibility that this manuscript was created by Sir Grey Cooper, Secretary to the Treasury.
English excise revenue, 1662-1875
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 96 MS 41
- Dates of Creation1662-1785
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description1 volume containing 103 leaves
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Excise are inland duties levied on articles at the time of their manufacture, notably, alcoholic drinks, but has also included salt, paper and glass. In 1643 a Board of Excise was established by the Long Parliament, to organize the collection of duties in London and the provinces. Excise duty was settled by statute in 1660. A permanent board of Excise for England and Wales was established in 1683 with separate boards for Ireland in 1682 and Scotland in 1707.
Access to this collection is unrestricted for the purpose of private study and personal research within the supervised environment and restrictions of the Library's Palaeography Room. Uncatalogued material may not be seen. Please contact the University Archivist for details.
Part of the Goldsmith's Library of Economic Literature, initially collected by Herbert Somerton Foxwell and presented by the Goldsmith's Company to the University of London in 1903.
Other Finding Aids
Collection level description.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Manuscript folio. Bound in crimson morocco.
Compiled by Sarah Smith as part of the RSLP AIM25 Project.
Conditions Governing Use
Copies may be made, subject to the condition of the original. Copying must be undertaken by the Palaeography Room staff, who will need a minimum of 24 hours to process requests.
This manuscript was in the collection of Sir Grey Cooper, Secretary to the Treasury, 1765-1783. It was part of the library of Sir Thomas Phillipps, 1st Baronet (1792-1872) as MS 9076, and was bought by Herbert Somerton Foxwell from Quaritch in 1897.