Records of the Council for the Protection of Rural Wales, Pembrokeshire Branch

Scope and Content

Records of the Council for the Protection of Rural Wales, Pembrokeshire Branch, [1928]-1998, including minutes, 1935-1998; correspondence, 1970-1992; annual reports, 1947-1974; newsletters, 1967-1975; leaflets, [1928]-[1930]; and miscellaneous branch minutes, reports and constitutions, 1968-1975.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Council for the Preservation of Rural Wales (CPRW) was founded in 1928 by Sir Clough Williams-Ellis. The name was changed to the Council for the Protection of Rural Wales in 1962, and then to the Campaign for the Protection of Rural Wales in 1991. The CPRW promotes the protection of the Welsh countryside and encourages sustainable development. The Pembrokeshire Branch is one of 17 CPRW regional branches.

Arrangement

Arranged into the following: records (HDSO/43); and minutes (DSO/67).

Conditions Governing Access

No restrictions

Acquisition Information

Transferred from Record Office Files and from records of St Mary-Out-Liberty Parish Council, 1983; deposited, 1989, 2002, 2004.

Note

Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Pembrokeshire Record Office, Records of the Council for the Protection of Rural Wales, Pembrokeshire Branch, catalogues; NLW CAIRS:web, Campaign for the Protection of Rural Wales (CPRW) Records, viewed 4 July 2005; CPRW website (www.cprw.org.uk), viewed 4 July 2005.

Other Finding Aids

Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Pembrokeshire Record Office and the National Register of Archives.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply

Appraisal Information

All records have been retained

Accruals

Accruals are not expected

Related Material

Central records of the CPRW are in National Library of Wales, Campaign for the Protection of Rural Wales (CPRW) Records (formerly Council for the Preservation of Rural Wales Records).

Geographical Names