Minera National School opened in 1851 as two schools a boys and a girls at a cost of £1,250. The building work was funded partly by a grant from the Wrexham Parochial Charities and partly through public subscription. Built of local stone it included a house for the headmaster attached to the boys school and one for the headmistress attached to the girls school.
In 1875 more land was aquired and a play yard was constructed and a new mixed school for infants was bult. 44 infants were admitted.
By 1890, 240 pupils were enrolled.
The school was known as a National School when it was built, then it bacame a Church of England school by an act of parliament in 1905.
In 1908 the boys school became a senior school and the girls school became a junior school and in 1915 Mr. David Griffiths became headmaster of the combined school.
By 1920 pupil numbers had dropped and there were 160 pupils in the school.
In January 1940 all of the pupils at Minera National school who were over the age of 11 were transferred to Penygelli school and Minera National school became a school for infant and junior pupils.
On 12th August 1954 Minera National School became known as a Church in Wales Aided School. (ED/MB/82/3).
Minera National School remains open and is presently called Minera Voluntary Aided School.
This collection includes log books, admission registers and managers minutes.
Hall Road, Minera.
PPD/82/25- Boy's class photograph, 1907
PD/82/1/67- Incumbent's parish log book. Includes subscription lists for Minera school. 1865-1901 (1 vol)
PD/82/1/105 -Plans, sections and elevations showing proposed additions to Minera National School. March 1894 (1 item)
PD/82/1/106 - Letter from Thomas Bury, Wrexham, relating to money from charity trustees. May 1895 (1 item)
PD/82/1/107 - Correspondence from the Local Education Authority and the clerk to Wrexham Parochial charities. 1904-1905 (1 file)
Secondary Sources -
J.C.Davies, Minera: A Brief Glimpse, 1981