Comprises registers of baptism, confirmation, banns, marriage and burial; service and preachers' registers; Churchwardens' records; vestry records; Parochial Church Council records; Overseers of the Poor records; charity records; school records and miscellanea.
Llanfair Talhaiarn Parish Records
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 2008 CEP33
- Dates of Creation1665-1999
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description10 boxes and 2 outsize vols
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The ancient parish of Llanfair Talhaiarn was extensive, comprising the twelve townships of Barog, Bodrychwyn, Bont, Cynnant, Ciliau, Cornwal, Dolganner, Garthewin, Melai, Petrual, Prysllygoed, and Talhaearn, and covering approximately 20,000 acres. The parish church of St Mary's Church Llanfair Talhaiarn, sometimes known as Llanfair Talhaearn or Llanfair T.H., is believed to date from about 1600, but was extensively repaired and restored in 1839 and 1876. The church is still in use but the parish is now part of the parish of Petryal and Betws yn Rhos. A daughter church, dedicated to St. John the Baptist, was opened at Pont-y-Gwyddel in 1882, and was closed in 1982.
Conditions Governing Access
This collection is open for research. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Conwy Archives will advise where this is the case. For details and opening hours see http://www.conwy.gov.uk/en/Resident/Libraries-Museums-and-Archives/Archives/Archives.aspx.
Received from the parish by the Denbighshire Record Office in accessions of 1978, 1987 and 1999. Transferred to the Conwy Archive Service in 2009.