Capel-y-Bedyddwyr, Heol y Felin, Bell Street, Aberdare, Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Baptist prayer meetings in the locality of Heol y Felin began as gatherings of a small group in private homes, and were made up of members from the Aberdare chapels of Calfaria and Ramoth. The Baptist ministry decided to form a branch cause at Heol y felin under the aegis of Ramoth, and arrangements were made for the release of members from Calfaria to join the new church. Eventually larger accommodation was required and Heol y Felin was completed in 1852.
The cause was formed into a church in Dec 1853, it commenced a branch cause at Cwmdar in 1858, and another at Llwydcoed in 1859.
The chapel was extended and extensive renovations carried out in 1893, then enlarged again in 1905. By December 2015 the chapel was closed and on the market.
Deposited by the Superindendent Registrar for Rhondda Cynon Taf District.
Other Finding Aids
A detailed catalogue is available online.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Compiled by Hannah Price for Glamorgan Archives, with reference to MGCC/CS/51/82 and the Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Wales www.coflein.gov.uk (accessed 11 Oct 2016).
Conditions Governing Use
Normal Glamorgan Archives conditions apply.
All records which meet the collection policy of Glamorgan Archives have been retained.
The records remained in the custody of the depositor until transferred to Glamorgan Archives.
Accruals are possible.