Family and estate papers of Lewes family of Llysnewydd comprising deeds, 1818-1876, relating to the Llysnewydd and Llanllyr estates, rentals of the Llanllyr estate, 1828-1845, copy wills, 1724-1875, accounts, 1816-1859; and pedigree rolls and notes.
Llysnewydd and Llanllyr Estate Records
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 211 LLYSNEWYDD
- Dates of Creation1724-1876
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical DescriptionInformation not available
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Lewes family was descended from the Lewes family of Abernantbychan, Cardiganshire. John Lewes (1680-1742) of Carmarthen married Hester Beynon of Castell Gorfod and purchased the Llanllyr estate in Cardiganshire and Carmarthenshire in 1720 from Henry Sumner. John and Hestor's son, John Lewes (1711-1783) of Llanllyr married Rebecca Price of Dyffryn, Carmarthenshire. He inherited Llysnewydd in the parish of Llangeler, Carmarthenshire, on the death of a cousin. Llysnewydd itself had been in the possession of the Lewes family since 1610 when John Lewes, third son of David Lewes of Gernos, Cardiganshire, purchased the property. John and Rebecca's son and heir was William Lewes (1746-1828) of Llysnewydd and Llanllyr, who also inherited the Dyffryn estate after 1805 from his relative William Jones. The Dyffryn estate remained in the family until 1882. It was in the possession of a Colonel W. N. Jones in about 1920. The Llysnewydd and Llanllyr estates were split up after the death of William Lewes (1746-1828). His eldest son, William Lewes (1789-1848) inherited Llysnewydd. His family still occupied Llysnewydd in 1984. The Llanllyr estate was inherited by William's third son, Captain John Lewes (1793-1860) who was given Llanllyr on his marriage to Mary Anne (1802-42), daughter of John Vaughan Lloyd of Brynog, and resided at Brynog. His son, John Lewes (1829-1900) married Mary Jane Griffiths of Llwyndyrys, daughter of the Rev. C. Griffith in 1858. Following his marriage, John Lewes bought his father out of the Llanllyr estate. Llanllyr house was demolished and rebuilt under Colonel John Lewes. He was succeeded by his son John Lewes (1860-1931), who married Louisa Hext from Cornwall in 1890.
Conditions Governing Access
The archive has been withdrawn from Carmarthenshire Archive Service and cannot be consulted
Temporarily deposited by Captain J. Hext Lewes of Llanllyr.
Compiled by Mair James for the HMC/NLW Family and Estates project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Jones, Francis, Historic Carmarthenshire Homes and their Families, (Newport, 1997); Nicholas, Thomas, Annals and Antiquities of the Counties and County families of Wales, (London, 2 vols, 1872), vol. I; Jones, Francis, Historic Cardiganshire Homes and their families, (Newport, 2000).
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Carmarthenshire Archive Service and the National Register of Archives.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
Accruals are not expected