Scope and Content

Records relating to the Gresford Colliery Disaster Relief Fund, 1930s-1985, including minutes, 1935-1981; relief fund scheme papers, 1935-1977; annual and other reports of the Central Board, Local Committee, actuary and others, 1934-1983; ledgers and cash books, 1934-1979; statements, 1934-1973; claim forms, schedules of allowances, lists of dependants and visitor's reports, 1934-1984; requisitions, 1934-1984; general correspondence, 1934-1984; correspondence of the Central Board, 1934-1978; correspondence with the Bank of England, 1934-1980; office and staff correspondence, 1940-1968; papers relating to the Gresford Disaster Memorial, 1980-1985; and press cuttings, 1937-1966.

Administrative / Biographical History

On 22 September 1934, an explosion occurred underground at Gresford Colliery, Gresford, Denbighshire, killing 265 miners. The disaster left 591 widows, children, parents and other dependants. In addition, over 1500 miners were temporarily without work, until the colliery was re-opened in January 1936. Several relief funds were opened, and by September 1935, subscriptions totalled £565,000, divided between the Lord Mayor of London's 'Mansion House Fund' and the Lord Lieutenant of Denbighshire's 'Denbighshire Fund'. A local committee was formed in Wrexham, Flintshire, to ensure that immediate relief should be afforded to the dependants in need of it, in the form of grants and temporary weekly allowances. The two funds were amalgamated in July 1935, under the provision of a trust deed to form the Gresford Colliery Disaster Relief Fund. The three trustees appointed were the Lord Mayor of London, the Governor of the Bank of England and the Lord Lieutenant of Denbighshire. A Central Board was appointed to control policy and administration and a permanent secretary and staff carried out the local administration under the direction of the Local Committee based in Wrexham. The Local Committee employed a 'visitor' to check the day-to-day welfare of the widows and their children. The allowances and grants were organised by an honorary actuary. The fund came to an end after the deaths of the last dependants. The Fund played a key role in the creation of the memorial to the victims unveiled in 1982.


Arranged into the following: minutes; relief fund scheme; annual, and other reports; accounts; correspondence and papers; Gresford Colliery disaster memorial; and miscellaneous.

Access Information

Data Protection Act restrictions will apply to any items less than 100 years old that contain personal information as defined by the Act.

Acquisition Information

Deposited by T. V. R. Roberts, Secretary, Gresford Colliery Disaster Relief Fund, 9 Bradley Road, Wrexham, 1985.


Please order documents using the alternative reference number (where provided).

Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following source was used in the compilation of this description: Flintshire Record Office, Gresford Colliery Disaster Relief Fund MSS.

Other Finding Aids

Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Flintshire Record Office, the National Library of Wales and the National Register of Archives. Catalogue is searchable online at:

Archivist's Note

Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. Input by Estelle Roberts. The following source was used in the compilation of this description: Flintshire Record Office, Gresford Colliery Disaster Relief Fund MSS.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply

Usual Copyright Restrictions Apply.

Appraisal Information

All records have been retained. Some remain to be catalogued.

Custodial History

Some of the records were previously deposited in the Library of the University College of North Wales, Bangor, [1968] and later transferred to Flintshire Record Office.


Accruals are not expected.

Related Material

Further records are in Flintshire Record Office, National Union of Mineworkers (N. Wales Area) MSS.

Geographical Names