Abstracts of accounts, furnishings and current charges 1872-1891; abstract of accounts, furnishings and current charges 1892-1915; ledger no 1 1911-1921; souvenir brochure 1839-1946; illustrated booklet outlining history and development of Low & Bonar Group & Companies, including William Fergusson & Sons Ltd c.1950; Low & Bonar report and accounts 1985.
Wm Fergusson & Sons Ltd, Jute Manufacturers, Dudhope Works, Dundee
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Wm. Fergusson & Sons Weaving Manufacturers was inaugurated in 1818 in the Hilltown district of Dundee but it was not until 1839 that the buildings were erected on the present site. On 30 May 1892 the premises were destroyed by fire and the new Dudhope Works, designed by J. Murray Robertson, came into operation in May 1893. The company was acquired by Low & Bonar Ltd in 1912 and became a Limited Liability Company in that year.
Wm. Ferguson and Sons traded under their own name until 1971/2.
Records are arranged chronologically within series.
Conditions Governing Access
Open for consultation subject to preservation requirements. Access must also conform to the restrictions of the Data Protection Act and any other appropriate legislation.
Details of the original accession are unknown. A souvenir brochure was deposited in 1999 by the University Principal's Office (AccM/393).
Fonds level description compiled by Sarah Chubb, Archives Hub Project Archivist, August 2001.
Other Finding Aids
Descriptive list. Subject source lists and databases are also available.
Alternative Form Available
No known copies.
Conditions Governing Use
Reproduction is available subject to preservation requirements. Charges are made for this service, and copyright and other restrictions may apply.