Whitton School Collection

Scope and Content

Records of Whitton School, including admissions registers, photographs and building plans.

Administrative / Biographical History

Whitton School was opened in March 1959 and located on Percy Road, Twickenham. The school was initially populated by boys who left Kneller Boys School when it was re-established as an All-Girls school. Whitton, despite gaining the boys from Kneller School, was established as a mixed secondary modern. It was renamed Twickenham Academy in September 2010 under the sponsorship of the Swedish group 'Kunskapsskolan'.


The Whitton School Collection is arranged into 15 series records:

  • S5/1 Admissions registers, 1988-2003
  • S5/2 Population data, 1993-2005
  • S5/3 Leaver and expulsion records, 1993-1999
  • S5/4 Leavers year books, 1993-2001
  • S5/5 Prospectus photographs and contact prints, 1977-2008
  • S5/6 Year group photographs, 1995-2010
  • S5/7 Newspaper cuttings, 1986-2010
  • S5/8 Building drawings, 1955-2002
  • S5/9 Fire damage, 2004-2005
  • S5/10 Parent/pupil survey, 2008-2009
  • S5/11 Staff allocations, 2009-2010
  • S5/12 Governors' annual report, 1998-1999
  • S5/13 Administration, 1992-2009
  • S5/14 Inspection and Ofsted Report, 1996-2002
  • S5/15 Examination results tables, 1981-1986

Conditions Governing Access

Some records within this collection are open for access and can be viewed at Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive.

The opening times and address for Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive can be found online at: http://www.richmond.gov.uk/localstudies

Please note that some records within this collection are closed and not currently available for research. For further information, please contact Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive through any of the contact methods listed at: http://www.richmond.gov.uk/localstudies

Other Finding Aids

A more detailed catalogue of this collection can be found online at https://richmond.spydus.co.uk/spydus.html