Deeds of properties in Llangyfelach and Llansamlet parishes, 1769-1829
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Morris family were copper smelters in the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries. Chauncey Townsend and Company operated lead and copper works in the Lower Swansea Valley, at Middle bank 1755-1764 and Upper bank c. 1757-1777.
The collection was originally catalogued at University College Library, Swansea, where an interpretation of the original order was made. This catalogue lists the items chronologically under the headings stated in Scope and content.
Conditions Governing Access
The records were originally held at The Royal Institution of South Wales, Swansea. From 1966 onwards the records were moved to the library in the University College, Swansea in consignments. They were transferred to West Glamorgan Archive Service in the Spring of 2004 as part of The Royal Institution of South Wales Collection.
Compiled by Katie Millien for the West Glamorgan Archive Service.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the catalogue is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service. The catalogue can be accessed online.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records transferred to the West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained.
Accruals are not expected.