Also known as Ysgol Llanarmon yn Ial and Ysgol Bro Famau.
In 1777 a school was built in Llanarmon near the church but ceased when the new school was built. The old school room was later used as a Sunday School, church hall or function rooms and is grade II listed (See PD/43/1/60 1779 Deeds for the founding and endowment of Llanarmon school - School House).
A new National school was built on School Lane in Llanarmon in 1871 for 200 pupils including Infants, and Mixed Juniors. In 1895 the average attendance was 120 pupils. In 1972 the numbers of pupils averaged 50.
Log Book ED/LB/43/1 illustrates the problems this school had with attendance ref on page 71 in 1903 although there were 187 pupils on the school register only 72 were present on one day. Bilingual teaching was adopted (ED/LB/43/1, pg 42) having previously been English only.
In August 1886 Richard Morgan became the Headteacher of the school and retired on 31st December 1919 after over 33 years service (ED/LB/43/1, pg 220). Vaughan Roberts, the new Headteacher was employed in 1920.
Changes/alterations to the school building since it was built in 1871 included a new sewage system in 1910, a low pressure heating installation and the removal of the gallery in one of the mixed classrooms in 1932 and an automatic solid fuel fired heating system in 1966. See plans CD/A/4/88, 115, 212.
In 1991 the school became a cluster school with Llanferres and Graiainrhyd.
In 2015, the school still exists as a County Primary School but is now a federated, twin site school and has changed its name to Ysgol Bro Famau. The Llanarmon site is still on School Lane and the Llanferres site address is Tyn Llan, Llanferres.
This collection includes log books, admission and attendance registers and photographs.
School Lane, Eryrys Road, CH7 4TB
25" First Edition OS map 1874- sheet 20-10 shown as National School for boys and girls
PD/43/1/60- Copy title deeds, 1779-1844
CD/A/4/88- Plan for proposed heating installation, 1910
CD/A/4/115- School plan, 1932
CD/A/4/212- Proposed automatic solid fuel fired heating system, 1966
ED/57- Llanferres National School Records, 1863-1976
'Just One Parish: The History of Llanarmon-Yn-Ial' 1973.