The papers of the Professor Herbert King comprise a small number of original documents for the East Riding of Yorkshire, his notes and extracts on the history and geography of the East Riding and a large number of photographs or copies of maps and plans for the region.
The original documents include an account roll of the reeve and beadle of Bishop Wilton (1482) as well as a 17th century valuation of the manor, and pains laid in the manor court in 1728. There is a 1653 rental for Newsome, an 18th century terrier of Kilpin fields before enclosure and an 18th century notebook which includes pedigrees of the Hilton and Ellerker families and a copy of a letter from William, Prior of Bridlington, to Thomas Cromwell, confirming that Gilbert of Gaunt and not the King founded the priory (c.1531). There is also a (badly damaged) account roll of the bailiffs, chamberlain and churchwardens of St Augustine in Patrington and St James and St Nicholas in Hedon for 1445-6.
The research notes and extracts in the collection include notes and copies of plans for enclosure at Aldborough (1733-1750); Anlaby and Kirk Ella (17th century); Bielby (1814); Pocklington (1757); Bishop Wilton (1772); Brigham (1767); Burton Pidsea (1762); Duggleby (1766); Elsternwick (1813); Elmswell (1771); Foston (1776); Great Kelk (1847); Kirkburn (1851); Foxholes (1840); Fridaythorpe (1810); Fulford (1859); Golcar (1823); North and South Newbald (1777); Preston (1777); Rudston (1777); Settrington (1797); South Cave (1785); Thixendale (1795); Walkington (c.1765); Weaverthorpe, Helperthorpe and Luttons (1804); Yapham (1731).
There is a copy of a 1611 survey of Bishop Wilton and material relating to farms and land use in Bishop Wilton in the 17th and 18th centuries. There are several 1650 parliamentary surveys of places in the East Riding; a bundle of notes on Lord Macdonald's estates in Skye; a number of notes on rentals and pains in the manor of West Hall and East Hall, South Cave as well as notes on surveys of Barnard family lands in Walkington; a 1611 survey of Wolfreton; a bundle of surveys and related papers for Brandesburton (1581-1842); a folder of notes on 17th century surveys of places in the North Riding; and a copy of the marriage settlement of Philip Tomlinson and Francis Bayles (1689).
The collection contains a small amount of printed material on the history and topography of East Yorkshire; some correspondence of Professor King's about his research (1920-1962); notebooks on Roman remains; notes on manorial records; a list of manuscripts at Everingham Park and a large number of photographs and photocopies particularly of enclosure plans.
The two single deposits made in late 1970 comprise the agenda, minutes and papers of the Local History Committee of the University College of Hull (1930-1931) and a typed transcript of the survey of Settrington as published by the Yorkshire Archeological Society Record Series, 126 (1962).