The University's department of metallurgy is believed to be the oldest in the country, with a chair in the subject being established in 1906 (the subject previously being taught as part of chemistry). The Department was part of the Faculty of Science and was based during the period covered by this file in the former Dental Hospital on Oxford Road (now part of Manchester Museum). The department during this period was headed by professors F.C. Thompson, Reginald Tottle, and R.B. Nicholson.
Nearly all of the file deals with routine administrative matters only, and there are several papers relating to a planned reorganisation of the department in the late 1960s, when it began to work closely with its counterpart department at UMIST. Eventually, the departments merged and became part of the Material Sciences Centre. Of particular interest are: a memorandum from 1955 on a proposed course in engineering metallurgy (1955); Professor Tottle's comments on the University administration, and comparing it with private industry (letter, 10 May 1960); and a memorandum on the planned Material Sciences Centre (1967).
Former reference: 118