File: Department of Archaeology

Scope and Content

The Department was officially created in 1981, splitting from History, but it had operated as quasi-department since the appointment of Barri Jones (1936-1999) as professor in 1971. Archaeology merged with Art History in the 1990s.The file includes details of recruiting staff from other universities in late 1980s in wake of cutbacks; the Department's views on in Department of the Environment Regional Committee for Rescue Archaeology; the development of industrial archaeology as an academic subject, and a research profile of the Department from 1985 which describes its work to date.

Former reference: 1113

Access Information

Access restrictions apply to some documents in this file. The documents have been removed form the main file and are closed to public inspection.