File: Faculty and Department of Music

Scope and Content

The Department of Music was the sole constituent of the Faculty of Music. The Department developed under the leadership of Humphrey Proctor-Gregg (1895-1980), lecturer in music from 1935 to 1953, when he was elected to a chair, from which he retired in 1962. On his retirement. Hans Redlich (1903-1965), a distinguished musicologist, was elected professor, to be succeeded on his death by Philip Cranmer (1918-2006).

Subjects covered in this file include: relations with the Royal Manchester College of Music and later the Royal Northern College of Music; submissions to various U.G.C. quinquennial plans; departmental accommodation (at this stage, at Denmark St.); status of B.Mus. and D.Mus. degrees; Proctor-Gregg's elevation to a chair and sabbatical leave with the London Opera Company in 1958-1959; and the setting up of the University string quartet, "Ad Solem". There are also papers relating to criticism of Redlich's running of the department.

Former reference: 118

Access Information

Access restrictions apply to some documents in this file. The documents have been removed form the main file and are closed to public inspection.

Related Material

For the period 1935-1949, see VCA/7/65. For the appointment of Professor Redlich see  VCA/7/545, and of Professor Cranmer, VCA/7/560. The University Archives also has custody of the Faculty archive (FMU).