File: Department of Fluid Motion

Scope and Content

The Department of Fluid Motion was a small department within the Faculty of Science with close links to the departments of mathematics, physics and engineering. In the period covered by this file it was headed by a reader (later promoted to a chair), who was also director of the Fluid Motion Laboratory. The Department later changed its name to the Mechanics of Fluids. It was initially headed by W.A. Mair, who was succeeded by P.R. Owen. Owen, in turn, was succeeded by N.H. Johannesen. Many of the papers in this file concern Owen's appointment, and include a valuable report of the Department's work prepared by Professor Lighthill (mathematics), but there is an informative report on the work of the Lab prepared by Lighthill in connection with the appointment of a new head following resignation of W A Mair in 1952.

Former reference: 206

Related Material

File VCA/7/363 deals with the Laboratory between 1946-1949.  VCA/7/539 deals with the appointment of Professor Johannesen.