File: Opening of the Mills and Booker Collections of Old Maps, 25 January 1923

Scope and Content

Papers relating to the exhibition of the Mills and Booker collections of maps in the Whitworth Hall in January 1923. The exhibition was intended to stimulate local interest in study of geography, at a time when the University was considering establishing a department of geography. Following the success of the exhibition, the Booker collection was donated to the new Department, while Colonel Dudley Mills gave his collection to University in 1937.

Former reference: C/152