File: Margaret Ashton lecture

Scope and Content

Instituted in 1941 in memory of the Manchester feminist and politician Margaret Ashton (d.1937), the Ashton lecture was delivered by woman speakers on a regular basis. The file contains mainly correspondence with invited speakers including Frances Yates (declined), Margaret Gowing, and Margaret Lane (Lady Hastings) who delivered the 1970 lecture on Frances Wright.

Former reference: 645

Related Material

See also VCA/7/292 for the earlier file.