File: Department of Geriatric Medicine

Scope and Content

The Department was based at the University Hospital of South Manchester (Withington), although in the 1980s it also operated at Hope Hospital, Salford. John Brocklehurst was appointed professor of geriatric medicine at the University of Manchester in 1970. the file includes discussion of the CIBA-Geigy Unit for Research in Ageing, which was launched in 1974 and discontinued in 1984.

Former reference: 938