Langdale Hall was a hall of residence for women in Victoria Park. It opened in 1904, and had close connections to the Church of England. In 1957 ownership of the Hall was transferred to the University, which administered it through the Langdale Hall Committee. The Hall became mixed in 1990, but was closed in 2002. The file includes discussion of administrative arrangements following the University's assumption of ownership; appointment of Hall wardens; the Warden's response to criticisms over restrictive regulations (1972); development of a squash court, and the consequences of admitting male residents (1990).
Former reference: 3374