Shareholders' minutes Jun 1883 - Jul 1957
Bute Shipbuilding, Engineering and Dry Dock Co Ltd, records
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 214 D746
- Dates of Creation1883-1957
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description1 volume
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The company was incorporated in 1883 and took over Morel Brothers' shipbuilding yard on the east bank of the River Taff at Cardiff Docks (bounded on the east by the Glamorganshire Canal). This shipyard had originally been started by Norman Scott Russell, son of engineer John Scott Russell. The other premises of the Bute Shipbuilding, Engineering & Dry Dock Company were a dry dock and engineering works at the south-east end of Roath Basin, and a foundry at Treherbert. See D331/33,36 and 37 for more records about the company.
Conditions Governing Access
Other Finding Aids
A detailed catalogue is available at Glamorgan Archives.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Compiled by Andrew Thynne for Glamorgan Archives.
Conditions Governing Use
Normal Glamorgan Archives conditions apply.
All records which meet the collection policy of Glamorgan Archives have been retained.
Donated by Vivian Davies of London via National Museum Cardiff
Accruals are not expected.