Minute books of The Club

Scope and Content

Minute books of The Club, 1906-25, 1925-36, 1936-46; with the correspondence of The Club, 1923-35, found loose in the volumes.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Club was founded in 1889 'to strengthen the University and research side of Oxford as opposed to the purely College side'.

Access Information

Entry to read in the Library is permitted only on presentation of a valid reader's card (for admissions procedures see http://www.bodley.ox.ac.uk).

Acquisition Information

Given to the Library in 1967.


Collection level description created by Susan Thomas, Department of Special Collections and Western Manuscripts.

Other Finding Aids

M. Clapinson and T.D. Rogers, Summary Catalogue of Post-Medieval Western Manuscripts in the Bodleian Library Oxford. Acquisitions 1916-1975. (Oxford, 1991), vol. II, nos. 55100-2.