In 1692 Edward Byrom (1656-1711) purchased property at Kersal Cell from the Kenyon family. Kersal is located in Higher Broughton, Salford. The Priory or Cell of Kersal originally formed part of the lands of the Cluniac order of the Holy Trinity, Lenton, Nottinghamshire, but had been dispersed at the dissolution of the monasteries. The site was granted by Henry VIII to one Baldwin Willoughby in 1548, who subsequently sold it to Ralph Kenyon of Gorton in 1548, whereupon the property was subdivided, culminating in the tripartite division between Chetham, Greenhalgh and Byrom. The property included a corn mill plus a kiln. The house, one of the oldest remaining in Salford, is still extant. It was purchased by Edward Byrom (1656-1711) in 1669 from the Kenyon family, one of whom, Roger Kenyon, distiller, of London, was bankrupt.
Kersal Moor is currently a nature reserve and a designated Site of Biological Importance. The mill, demolished in the early 20th century, was situated north of Moor Lane, on the banks of Singleton Brook.