Session minutes, 1846-1915; Deacon's Court minutes, 1847-1899.
Records of Dairsie Free Church, Dairsie United Free Church
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
At the disruption of 1843, the minister, and a substantial proportion of the congregation, of Dairsie Parish church adhered to the Free Church. In the beginning the Free Church of Dairsie had to worship in the open air, or within a joiner's shop, until a church was erected in October 1843; the church was later renovated in 1876. Following the union of the United Presbyterian Church and the Free Church of Scotland in 1900, Dairsie Free Church became Dairsie United Free Church and in 1914 Dairsie was united with the congregation of Dairsie Guardbridge, under the name of Dairsie and Guardbridge. This union however was dissolved in 1927 and Dairsie United Free Church was linked in the following year with Dairsie Parish Church. At the union of the Church of Scotland and the United Free Church in 1929, the parish church and the United Free Church of Dairsie were fully united. The united Kirk Session of Dairsie, which established a link in 1970 with Kemback and additionally in 1980 with Strathkinness, presently sits within the Presbytery of St Andrews.
Sources: John Alexander Lamb, The Fasti of the United Free Church of Scotland 1900-1929 (Edinburgh, 1956); W. Ewing, Annals of the Free Church of Scotland, 1843-1900 (Edinburgh, 1914), Vol II; Hew Scott and others (ed.), Fasti Ecclesiae Scoticanae, vols. 9-11 (Edinburgh, 1915-2000).
Conditions Governing Access
By appointment with the Archivist. Access to unpublished records less than 30 years old and other records containing confidential information may be restricted. Special conditions apply to photographs.
Held under charge and superintendence of the Keeper of Records for Scotland.
Description compiled by Rachel Hart, Archives Hub Project, based on description created by Lesley Doig and modified by Alan Borthwick, Scottish Archive Network project.
Other Finding Aids
Typescript catalogue available in St Andrews University Library Department of Special Collections and in National Archives of Scotland search rooms.
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist. Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.