Parish records of York, Holy Redeemer

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1939-1962; register of marriages, 1951-1990; register of banns, 1976-1984; register of services, 1937-1993; churchwardens’ records, including building papers, 1935-1966, and fabric papers, 1951-1986; financial papers, including church income ledger, 1977-1989, and balance sheets, 1965-1992; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including church hall correspondence and papers, 1937-1940, Mens’ Fellowship papers, 1964-1977, and balance sheets for church organisations, 1968-1991; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1952-1979, 1982-1989, minutes of annual general meetings, 1991-1993, accounts, 1937-1976, electoral roll returns, 1984, and correspondence, 1964-1990; parish magazines, 1944-1997; photographs, 1960s.

Administrative / Biographical History

The parish of Holy Redeemer, York was created in 1938 from part of the ancient parish of Acomb. The parish church of Holy Redeemer was built in the 1960s and incorporates material from the demolished medieval parish church of St Mary Bishophill Senior, although the existing parish of St Mary Bishophill Senior is not otherwise connected.

The church, designed by the architect George Pace, features an amalgamation of modern and ancient artefacts, with fragments of Saxon and fourteenth-century stone crosses appearing alongside a font and a pulpit created in 1964, the year of the church’s consecration.

Today the parish is known as The Holy Redeemer, Acomb.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1982 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1997.

Note

The parish of Holy Redeemer, York was created in 1938 from part of the ancient parish of Acomb. The parish church of Holy Redeemer was built in the 1960s and incorporates material from the demolished medieval parish church of St Mary Bishophill Senior, although the existing parish of St Mary Bishophill Senior is not otherwise connected.

The church, designed by the architect George Pace, features an amalgamation of modern and ancient artefacts, with fragments of Saxon and fourteenth-century stone crosses appearing alongside a font and a pulpit created in 1964, the year of the church’s consecration.

Today the parish is known as The Holy Redeemer, Acomb.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1997.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1939-1962, and marriages, 1951-1972, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 824).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 19.11.15.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193