Circuit records of the Methodist Connexion, York (New Street) Circuit

Scope and Content

Circuit administration, comprising Quarterly Meetings minute books for York Circuit, 1816-1827, and Clifton Circuit, 1910-1951; Circuit Committee’s minute book, 1903-1957, 1964-1988; Circuit Schedule Books for York Circuit, 1824-1867, New Street Circuit, 1867-1915, and Clifton Circuit, 1915-1951; Circuit Steward’s accounts. 1823-1888, 1957-1970; Local Preachers’ Meeting records, including meeting minute books, 1816-1925, account book concerning horse hire, 1817-1829, and correspondence, 2008; Circuit plans and maps for New Street and Centenary Circuits, 1856-1893, and York, North Circuit, 1976-2012; York, Clifton and Monkgate Circuit Trustees minute book, 1942-1972, and analysis book, 1967-1975; Circuit yearbooks, 1957-1958; chapel returns, 1885, 1891, 1931.

Financial records, including annual collections, 1824-1852; bank book, 1899-1903; Envelope System vestry cash books for Clifton Circuit, 1934-1940, 1952, and Trinity Circuit, 1957-1965; church accrual accounts, 2005-2007; and Fund for Worn-Out Preachers and Widows account book, 1841-1904.

Property records, comprising Trust property schedule books, 1899-1975; papers relating to Trust property, 1889-1941; and York, North Circuit Property Committee minute book, 1987-2003.

Records of Circuit groups and organisations, comprising Wesleyan Institute minute book, 1867-1882; Circuit Missionary Society Treasurer’s account books, 1857-1922, 1945-1955; Circuit Temperance Society minute book, 1877-1910; Circuit Clothing Society minute book and accounts, 1820-1830; Circuit Education Committee minute book, 1844-1880, includes printed annual reports of Albion Street and St George’s Schools, 1846-1847, 1849-1851; Sunday School reports, 1881; Circuit Missionary Committee minute book, 1870-1902, 1926.

Historical material, including surveys of members of the Wesleyan Society, 1797-1822, later 19th century; notes of early Methodism in Yorkshire and papers relating to the Lyth family of York, 19th century; Yorkshire Methodist Magazine (later York Methodist Quarterly), 1885-1889.

Unlisted material.

Administrative / Biographical History

The York circuit originally covered approximately 50 villages but at the 1825 Conference it was divided and Tadcaster was constituted the head of a separate circuit.

In 1867 the Circuit was divided into two, with the original Circuit becoming York, New Street Circuit (renamed Clifton Circuit from 1909), in addition to a new York, Wesley Circuit.

In 1867 the York Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion was divided into two, the first becoming York, New Street Circuit and the second becoming York, Wesley Circuit.

In 1888 the York, Centenary Circuit was formed from parts of New Street Circuit and New Street Circuit was renamed Clifton Circuit in 1909.

The Circuit included New Street Chapel, Groves Chapel and Clifton Chapel in York, as well as chapels in Claxton, Flaxton, Haxby, Huntington, Shipton, Strensall and Stockton on the Forest.

Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches in 1932, York, Clifton Circuit continued as a circuit of the new single Methodist Connexion of Great Britain.

Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches in 1932, Clifton Circuit continued as a circuit of the unified Methodist Connexion of Great Britain.

In 1957 Clifton amalgamated with Monkgate Circuit to form the new York, Clifton & Monkgate Circuit (also known as Trinity Circuit).

York, Clifton & Monkgate Circuit was formed in 1957 through the amalgamation of Clifton Circuit and Monkgate Circuit. It was also known as Trinity Circuit.

The Circuit included the following chapels in York: Clifton, Groves, Monkgate, Layerthorpe Duke of York Street Mission, Burton Stone Lane and James Street, as well as chapels in Claxton, Flaxton, Haxby, Huntington, New Earswick, Shipton, Strensall, and Stockton on the Forest. It was part of the York and Hull District of the Methodist Church.

In 1972 it merged with Easingwold Circuit to form the new York, North Circuit.

In 1972 York, Clifton & Monkgate Circuit merged with Easingwold Circuit to form the new York, North Circuit of the Methodist Connexion. The circuit was part of the broader York and Hull District of the Methodist Church.

The Circuit included the following chapels in the greater York area: Clifton, Monkgate, Trinity, New Earswick, and Clifton Moor, as well as chapels in Alne, Brafferton Helperby, Claxton, Easingwold, Haxby, Huby, Husthwaite, Huntingdon, Raskelf, Sheriff Hutton, Shipton, Stillington, Stockton, Strensall, Tholthorpe, and Thornton.

In 2012 the York, North Circuit joined with York, South Circuit to create a single York Circuit of the Methodist Church.

Arrangement

The archive incorporates the records of several consecutive Methodist Circuits, often in a continuous record series. These include the York (c 1787-1867) and Clifton (1909-c 1932, this was called the New Street Circuit between 1867 and 1909) Circuits of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion in York; and the York Clifton (c 1932-1957), York Clifton & Monkgate (1957-1974), and York North (1974-2012) Circuits of the Methodist Connexion.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute prior to 1989. Further additions were made to the archive in 1994, 2009, 2012, 2013 and 2016.

Note

The York circuit originally covered approximately 50 villages but at the 1825 Conference it was divided and Tadcaster was constituted the head of a separate circuit.

In 1867 the Circuit was divided into two, with the original Circuit becoming York, New Street Circuit (renamed Clifton Circuit from 1909), in addition to a new York, Wesley Circuit.

In 1867 the York Circuit of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion was divided into two, the first becoming York, New Street Circuit and the second becoming York, Wesley Circuit.

In 1888 the York, Centenary Circuit was formed from parts of New Street Circuit and New Street Circuit was renamed Clifton Circuit in 1909.

The Circuit included New Street Chapel, Groves Chapel and Clifton Chapel in York, as well as chapels in Claxton, Flaxton, Haxby, Huntington, Shipton, Strensall and Stockton on the Forest.

Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches in 1932, York, Clifton Circuit continued as a circuit of the new single Methodist Connexion of Great Britain.

Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist churches in 1932, Clifton Circuit continued as a circuit of the unified Methodist Connexion of Great Britain.

In 1957 Clifton amalgamated with Monkgate Circuit to form the new York, Clifton & Monkgate Circuit (also known as Trinity Circuit).

York, Clifton & Monkgate Circuit was formed in 1957 through the amalgamation of Clifton Circuit and Monkgate Circuit. It was also known as Trinity Circuit.

The Circuit included the following chapels in York: Clifton, Groves, Monkgate, Layerthorpe Duke of York Street Mission, Burton Stone Lane and James Street, as well as chapels in Claxton, Flaxton, Haxby, Huntington, New Earswick, Shipton, Strensall, and Stockton on the Forest. It was part of the York and Hull District of the Methodist Church.

In 1972 it merged with Easingwold Circuit to form the new York, North Circuit.

In 1972 York, Clifton & Monkgate Circuit merged with Easingwold Circuit to form the new York, North Circuit of the Methodist Connexion. The circuit was part of the broader York and Hull District of the Methodist Church.

The Circuit included the following chapels in the greater York area: Clifton, Monkgate, Trinity, New Earswick, and Clifton Moor, as well as chapels in Alne, Brafferton Helperby, Claxton, Easingwold, Haxby, Huby, Husthwaite, Huntingdon, Raskelf, Sheriff Hutton, Shipton, Stillington, Stockton, Strensall, Tholthorpe, and Thornton.

In 2012 the York, North Circuit joined with York, South Circuit to create a single York Circuit of the Methodist Church.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2009. Later material has not yet been listed, please contact the Borthwick Institute for further information.

Alternative Form Available

Copies of lists of Circuit members, 1797-1822, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 1764).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 12.12.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

The records of chapels within these circuits are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute, namely Alne; Askham Bryan; Bishopthorpe; Claxton; Coxwold; Copmanthorpe; Deighton; Dunnington; Flaxton; Fulford; Gate Helmsley; Haxby; Heslington; Hessay; Huntington; Huby; Murton; Naburn; Newton on Ouse; Osbaldwick; Raskelf; Rufforth; Sheriff Hutton; Shipton; Stamford Bridge; Stillingfleet; Stillington; Stockton on the Forest; Strensall; Upper Poppleton; Warthill and Wheldrake, as well as Central; Clifton; Dringhouses; Groves; Heworth; Layerthorpe; Melbourne Terrace; Monkgate; New Street and Wesley chapels in York.

The Borthwick also holds the records of the York District of the Wesleyan Methodist Connexion and the York and Whitby, and York and Hull Districts of the Methodist Connexion.

Additional Information

Published

GB193