- Corporate records, 1895–1979;
- Shareholding records, 1951–1979;
- Letterbooks, 1868–1895;
- Financial records, 1834–1981;
- Production records, 1885–1980;
- Sales records, 1919–1980;
- Staff records, 1929–1934;
- Licensed premises, records 1873–1959;
- Property records, 1957–1980;
- Public relations, 1950s–1975;
- Photographs, 1920s–1970s.
Records of Thomas Usher & Son Ltd, brewers, Edinburgh, Scotland
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 248 TU
- Dates of Creation1834-1980
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description7.70 metres
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
David Aikman & Co operated the Cowgate Brewery, Campbell's Close, Cowgate, Edinburgh, Scotland , from 1817 to 1828 , followed by Hutchison, Aikman & Co from 1828 to 1831 . The brewery was acquired in 1831 by James Usher & Cunningham , trading as Usher & Co from 1839 and J & T Usher from 1843 . J & T Usher moved to the Park Brewery, St Leonard's Street, Edinburgh , in 1860 . Thomas Usher & Son Ltd was registered in March 1895 as a limited liability company to acquire the business. The company, along with 170 licensed houses, was taken over by Vaux & Associated Breweries Ltd , Sunderland, England , in 1959 . Its name changed to Usher's Brewery Ltd in 1972 and in 1976 it employed 2,500 people and operated 235 tied houses. The Park Brewery was operated by Lorimer's Brewery Ltd from 1976 and was acquired by Allied Breweries Ltd , London , in 1980 . Usher's Brewery Ltd went into liquidation and the Park Brewery ceased brewing in 1981 .
The material is arranged according to the Scottish Brewing Archive classification scheme used within all SBA collections.
Other Finding Aids
File level list available in searchroom.
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
No physical characteristics that affect the use of this material.
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist.
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 0248 procedures.
The collection was previously stored with the rest of the Scottish Brewing Archive at Heriot–Watt University. It moved to the University of Glasgow in 1991. It moved to the University of Glasgow in 1991. Custody of the Scottish Brewing Archive was transferred to Glasgow University Archive Services in 2008.
Location of Originals
This material is original
Richmond, Lesley and Turton, Alison (eds), The Brewing Industry. A Guide to Historical Records , (Manchester and New York: Manchester University Press, 1990).
No known publications using this material.
Description compiled in line with the following international standards: International Council on Archives,ISAD(G) Second Edition, September 1999 and National Council on Archives,Rules for the construction of personal, place and corporate names
Scotland is the location of all place names in the administrative/biographical history element, unless otherwise stated.
Collection catalogued by Natalie Milne, Archives Assistant (Hub), 21 November 2001. Catalogue converted to Encoded Archival Description by Michelle Kaye, Archives Assistant, 22 March 2012. Catalogue edited by Wiebke Redlich, Archives Assistant (Hub), 9 May 2002.