- Corporate records, 1895–1979;
- Shareholding records, 1951–1979;
- Letterbooks, 1868–1895;
- Financial records, 1834–1981;
- Production records, 1885–1980;
- Sales records, 1919–1980;
- Staff records, 1929–1934;
- Licensed premises, records 1873–1959;
- Property records, 1957–1980;
- Public relations, 1950s–1975;
- Photographs, 1920s–1970s.
Records of Thomas Usher & Son Ltd, brewers, Edinburgh, Scotland
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
David Aikman & Co operated the Cowgate Brewery, Campbell's Close, Cowgate, Edinburgh, Scotland, from 1817 to 1828, followed by Hutchison, Aikman & Co from 1828 to 1831. The brewery was acquired in 1831 by James Usher & Cunningham, trading as Usher & Co from 1839 and J & T Usher from 1843. J & T Usher moved to the Park Brewery, St Leonard's Street, Edinburgh, in 1860. Thomas Usher & Son Ltd was registered in March 1895 as a limited liability company to acquire the business. The company, along with 170 licensed houses, was taken over by Vaux & Associated Breweries Ltd, Sunderland, England, in 1959. Its name changed to Usher's Brewery Ltd in 1972 and in 1976 it employed 2,500 people and operated 235 tied houses. The Park Brewery was operated by Lorimer's Brewery Ltd from 1976 and was acquired by Allied Breweries Ltd, London, in 1980. Usher's Brewery Ltd went into liquidation and the Park Brewery ceased brewing in 1981.
The material is arranged according to the Scottish Brewing Archive classification scheme used within all SBA collections.
Access to records within this collection is open, however an appointment may be required. Please email Archives and Special Collections for advice: firstname.lastname@example.org
Other Finding Aids
See also University of Glasgow Collections
File level list available in searchroom.
Alternative Form Available
No known copies of this material
Conditions Governing Use
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents. Applications for permission to quote should be sent to Archives and Special Collections, please email: email@example.com
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 248 procedures.
The collection was previously stored with the rest of the Scottish Brewing Archive at Heriot–Watt University. It moved to the University of Glasgow in 1991. Custody of the Scottish Brewing Archive was transferred to Glasgow University Archive Services in 2008.
Location of Originals
This material is original