Ruabon Parish Records

Scope and Content

The records of individual ecclesiastical parishes include registers of baptisms, marriages and burials, as well as records of the churchwardens and Parochial Church Councils, parish charities, schools, clubs and societies.

Parish records were deposited at the Clwyd Record Office, following an agreement of 1976 between the Church in Wales and the Welsh County Councils.

The ancient parish of Ruabon comprised the townships of Belan, Bodylltyn, Cristionydd Cynrig ( or Y Dref Fawr), Coed Cristionydd, Cristionydd Fechan ( or Y Dref Fechan, or Dynhinlle Uchaf), Dinhinlle Isaf, Hafod ( or Hafod y Gallor), Moreton Anglicorum ( or Moreton Above), Moreton Wallichorum ( or Moreton Below) (where Above and Below refer to Offa's Dyke), Rhuddallt, and Tref Robert Llwyd.

On 24 May 1844, Coed Cristionydd and part of Cristionydd Cynrig went to the new parish of Rhosymedre.

On 3 September 1844, Cristionydd Fechan went to the new parish of Rhosllanerchrugog.

On 28 October 1879, Moreton Above and the remainder of Cristionydd Cynrig went to the new parish of Penycae [Information taken from (last accessed July 2015)]

Related material-

NTD/268/1-17- Copy Baptism, Marriage and Burial registers, 1828-1964


Arranged into two key groups; Ecclesiastical Records and Civil Records

Access Information

This collection is open for research. It is advisable to book in advance, for details and opening hours see Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Denbighshire Archive Service will advise where this is the case.

Geographical Names