Account book 1903-1926, 2 pew rent books, 1869-1911 and details of subscriptions towards the presentation of Rev. Glannant Davies on his retirement, c. 1890.
Salem Chapel, Porthmadog Records
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 222 BMSS SCP
- Dates of Creation1869 - 1926
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialWelsh.
- Physical Description4 items
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Salem Congregational Chapel opened in 1827. In the early years, the Sunday services were held in the morning whilst the evening meetings of the Congrgationalists were held at nearby Siloam Chapel. However, under the guidance of Henry Rees of Carmarthen in the early 1830's the congregation grew and the morning service was moved to the evening. By 1839 the chapel had 79 members.
Further administrative information is available in Hanes Eglwysi Annibynol Cymru, Vol III.
Arranged chronologically and incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts
Conditions Governing Access
Open to all users.
Description compiled by Elen Wyn Hughes, July 2002.
Other Finding Aids
An item level typescript catalogue is available at the Archives Department of the University of Wales Bangor. Reference numbers : General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts 1054-1056, 13530
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.