Marriage registers, 1952-1959; confirmation registers; 1950-2016, Baptism registers, 1942-1978
Fairwater Ecclesiastical Parish Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
In the early 1930's the Vicar of Llandaff, Canon D Arkill-Jones began exploring the possibility of opening a mission church - to serve the expanding Cardiff population - in Fairwater. Land was gifted to the church for this purpose by Mr Cartwright and was subsequently added to by Alderman Frewer, who also paid for the conveyancing. The Earl of Plymouth laid the foundation stone in October 1936 and the completed church was dedicated by Bishop Timothy Rees on 30th January 1937. The church was later extended and this extended church was consecrated on 28th October 1961.
Chronological within record series.
Conditions Governing Access
Deposited by Rev. Sutton December 2016, Jan 2017
Other Finding Aids
A detailed catalogue is available online.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Compiled by Laura Russell for Glamorgan Archives, with reference to www.stpeterschurchfairwater.org.uk
Conditions Governing Use
Normal Glamorgan Archives conditions apply.
All records which meet the collection policy of Glamorgan Archives have been retained.
The records remained in the custody of the donor until transferred to Glamorgan Archives.
Accruals are expected.