The collection consists of volumes of sermon notes which date from 1842 to 1894 and follow the movements of William Jones from Liverpool to Aberystwyth to Tredegar. Also, a few lectures on religious topics, in particular Wesleyanism, 1860 - 1870. The correspondence is addressed to his two children, Miss E.J. Jones and H.O. Jones from various correspondents regarding their father and his papers, 1929 - 1931 March 21.
Papers of Williams Jones, Tredegar
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
William Jones was a Wesleyan Reformer. Born in Bodedern, Anglesey he became a member of the movement known as the Little Wesleyans, and a missionary in Liverpool in 1841. By 1846 however, he was minister of a Wesleyan Methodist Association church in Liverpool. By 1852 he had moved to Aberystwyth, Cardiganshire.
In 1853 he left Aberystwyth and joined the Wesleyan Reformers, a movement which was successful in South Wales. He was pastor of four churches of the Wesleyan Reformers, in Tredegar, Monmouthshire; Merthyr Tudfil and Aberdare, Glamorganshire. In the same year he published a periodical, Gedeon.
The Wesleyan Reformers, in 1857, amalgamated with the Wesleyan Methodist Association. In 1858 William Jones confined his ministry to Tredegar whilst the other three churches became independent. Elim church in Tredegar followed this example in 1861.
William Jones married Jane Davies of Bala in 1849 who died in 1853. He remarried in 1867.
The collection has been incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts. It has been arranged according to record type and chronologically.
Conditions Governing Access
Open to all users.
Description compiled by Elen Wyn Jones, October 2001
Other Finding Aids
An item level catalogue is available at the Department of Manuscripts of the University of Wales Bangor. Reference numbers : General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts 440, 25805 - 25904, 26120 - 26132
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.