The States of Jersey Fire Service collection includes day books which give a daily record of the Fire Service's activities including reports of and responses to incidents and details of staff on duty.
States of Jersey Fire and Rescue Service Archive
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The States of Jersey Fire Service, under that name, first came into being in 1938. The States, faced with the threat of war, took over the St. Helier Fire Brigade.In September 1901 the St. Helier Fire Brigade was formed and consisted of the Chief Officer, a Second Officer, Foreman and 12 Firemen, all volunteers. In 1902 the St. Helier Fire Brigade was housed at the Town Hall and remained there until after World War 1. In 1938 the States of Jersey took over the Service from the Parish. An auxiliary Fire Service was also formed in view of the threat of war. For much of the period 1939-1945 the Island was occupied by German Forces and many serious fires were attended in buildings occupied by German troops whose carelessness, where fire risks were concerned, became renowned.After the war, a spate of serious fires led to further reorganisation and in 1950 a new Chief Officer, Mr FL Edmonston, was appointed. More appliances, including a Turntable Ladder, were purchased and in 1954 the Fire Station was moved to its present location in Rouge Bouillon.The year 1961 brought with it a liability to engage in inshore marine rescue and a Zodiac type inflatable rescue craft was purchased and this new service to Islanders was provided by the Fire Service.In 1977, after strong recommendations over a number of years by H.M. Inspectors of Fire Services and Chief Fire Officer W. Mahoney, a Western Sub Fire Station was opened at Route des Quennevais, St. Brelade.
Full catalogue available to view online at www.jerseyheritage.org. Access to records at Jersey Archive. Please bring driving licence or passport as ID on your first visit.
Other Finding Aids
Full catalogue available to view online at www.jerseyheritage.org.