Armorial

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

An ordinary of arms, probably compiled by Richard Mawson, Portcullis Pursuivant, 1718-1745. Index added. Astronomical tables of eclipses transcribed on several pages.

Conditions Governing Access

The manuscript is available for consultation by any accredited reader.

Acquisition Information

Purchased by Mrs Enriqueta Rylands, on behalf of the John Rylands Library, in 1901 from James Ludovic Lindsay, 26th Earl of Crawford.

Note

Description compiled by Henry Sullivan, project archivist.

Other Finding Aids

Catalogued in the Hand-List of the Collection of English Manuscripts in the John Rylands Library, 1928 (English MS 25).

Custodial History

Formerly part of the Bibliotheca Lindesiana, the Library of the Earls of Crawford and Balcarres, from Haigh Hall, Wigan, Lancashire. Former owners: John Warburton, Somerset Herald (d. 1759); Thomas Willement (d. 1871).