Ellis Llwyd Jones Hall was a University of Manchester hall of residence for women .
It was founded in 1919 by Sir James Jones, a Rochdale businessman, in memory of his son, Ellis Llwyd Jones. Jones also generously endowed the University's department of education of the deaf at the same time. The Hall was intended primarily for women students studying at the department of education of the deaf. However, this was not a required qualification for residence.
Unlike other University halls, Ellis was situated at some distance from the University campus in Talbot Road, Old Trafford. This was due to the proximity of the Royal Residential Schools of the Deaf, with which the Department of Education of the Deaf had close contacts. In the 1960s, the Schools moved from Old Trafford, and the Hall decided to relocate. In 1981 the Hall moved to Victoria Park, adjacent to Dalton Hall. In 1987, Dalton and Ellis Llwyd Jones Hall began the process of amalgamation, with a unified administration being introduced in 1989, together with a new name, Dalton-Ellis Hall.
The Hall was headed by a Warden, and governed by a University committee, the Ellis Llwyd Jones Hall Delegacy.