The Welshman Co. Ltd Records

Scope and Content

Minute books, 1889-1899; register of shareholders, 1902-1913; printed annual reports and statements of account, 1890-1914; wages book, 1897-1937; bank pass-books, 1898-1928; correspondence, [1889]-1905; photographs and illustrations, [1894]-[1899]; and letter to the depositor, 1975. There are no copies of the newspaper in this archive.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Welshman Newspaper and Steam-Printing Co. Ltd, in Carmarthen, Carmarthenshire, published The Welshman newspaper, launched c. 1830 as The Welshman and General Advertiser for the Principality of Wales. In 1942, the paper changed its name to The Welshman. It was bought by the proprietors of the Carmarthen Journal in the late 1940s and ceased being published in 1984.


Arranged into the following: 1979 deposit; 1982 deposit.

Access Information

No restrictions

Acquisition Information

Deposited by Mr D. E. T. Lewis, Llanllawddog, 1979, 1982.


Compiled by Rhys Jones for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Carmarthenshire Archives Service, Business Records; Jones, Aled, 'The Newspaper Press in Wales 1804-1945', in Jones, Philip Henry, and Eiluned Rees, A Nation and its Books: A history of the book in Wales (Aberystwyth, 1998).

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy of the catalogue is available at Carmarthenshire Archives Service.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply

Appraisal Information

All records have been retained


Accruals are not expected

Related Material

Further papers are privately held, see Business Archives Council Company Archives 1986, no 642. Carmarthenshire Archives holds copies of The Welshman.

Geographical Names