Records of the Court of Governors

  • Reference
      GB 133 OCA/8
  • Dates of Creation
  • Physical Description
      24 items

Scope and Content

Series comprises minutes and appendices of Court, 1870-1904, plus nominations books, registers and notice book. There are also printed minutes of Court, which include the Reports of Council, which contain the annual accounts and selected departmental reports.

Administrative / Biographical History

Under the terms of the Owens College Acts 1870 & 1871, the Court of Governors replaced the Trustees as the supreme governing body of Owens College. The original Court comprised the College President (presiding officer) and forty two members, including 24 life governors, originally appointed by Act of Parliament, 15 nominated governors, appointed for five year terms (three nominated by president, two by Manchester Corporation, one by Salford, three by MPs for Lancashire, Cheshire, Yorkshire and Derbyshire constituencies, three by Lord President of Privy Council, and three by the Associates); the other members being the Principal and two professors. The Court appointed the College President and the Treasurer and had powers to make bye-laws. The Court appointed eight members of the College Council.


Records of Court comprise:

  • OCA/8/1 - Minutes of Court
  • OCA/8/2 - Appendices to minutes
  • OCA/8/3 - Printed minutes [includes reports of Council to Court]
  • OCA/8/4 - Nominations books
  • OCA/8/5 - Rough minutes
  • OCA/8/6 - Register of Governors
  • OCA/8/7 - Notice books