File: Chairs in Chemistry (Todd, Hirst, Jones, Evans)

  • Reference
      GB 133 VCA/7/40
  • Dates of Creation
  • Physical Description
      4 folders

Scope and Content

Correspondence and papers relating to appointments to chairs in chemistry. The file covers the appointment of Alexander Todd (1907-1997) as Sir Samuel Hall professor of chemistry in 1938; his successor, Edmund Langley Hirst (1898-1975) in 1944; E.R.H. Jones (1911-2002) as Sir Samuel Hall professor of chemistry; and Meredith Evans (1904-1952) as professor of physical chemistry in 1948. The files contain numerous incidental remarks about the running of the chemistry department.

Former reference: 43

Related Material

See also VCA/7/358.